Get In Touch
Get In Touch

IBSA operations are overseen by an experienced, independent board of directors who are leaders in their field.

They bring a wealth of industry and sector expertise to our business activities and are responsible for leading the organisation and setting its strategic direction.


Graeme Russell |Chair

Graeme Russell is Chair of the IBSA Board.

Graeme has extensive experience in governance, strategy and management, investment, and education and training. Graeme is former CEO of industry funds Media Super and First Super, and was an Independent Director of Media Super, TISS and JUST Super.

He was an industry and international partnerships executive at Melbourne and Monash Universities, and a consultant to universities and TAFE institutes. Graeme has executive management experience across companies in the financial services, business services and media industries.

He commenced professional life as a Chartered Accountant in practice and has held senior community leadership roles, including as a Councillor and Mayor.

Graeme holds a Bachelor of Business and a Graduate Diploma of Applied Finance. He is a Fellow of Chartered Accountants Australia & New Zealand, a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Superannuation Trustees and a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.


Rhyll Gardner | Director | Finance, Audit and Risk Chairperson

Rhyll Gardner is a non-executive director and portfolio executive with deep finance and financial expertise, along with broad experience across governance, marketing, strategy, mergers and acquisitions, risk management, digitisation and people and culture.

Over a 35-year career in financial services, Rhyll filled CEO and general management roles in treasury, risk and compliance, marketing, corporate banking, retail banking and group strategy. She has led teams of up to 1000 through turnaround, growth and integration. Rhyll is currently director of Community 21 Ltd and Foodbank (Qld) Ltd.

She is a past director of Foresters Community Finance Ltd, Social Investments Australia Ltd, Queensland Symphony Orchestra, St. Margaret’s School and the YWCA.

Rhyll holds an Executive Masters of Business Administration (EMBA), a Masters in Applied Finance, a Bachelor of Commerce and a Bachelor of Economics.  She is a Fellow of Finsia and a Graduate Member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors (AICD).

James Moran | Director

James has extensive experience working in General Management roles in the vocational education & training (VET) sector.

He is currently consulting to the sector including advising on workforce development planning, group training and linking jobactive clients to VET and social procurement. Prior to this, James was the National General Manager for Apprenticeship Support Australia for the Business Chambers delivering on the Commonwealth Government Australian Apprenticeship Support Network (AASN) contract.

Before that, James was an Executive Director of the Australian College of Commerce & Management, a role he held for 10 years. Early in his career he held Executive Management roles within Financial Services. He is currently on the Board of the BDCU Alliance Bank.James holds a Bachelor of Commerce Degree and a Master of Commerce (Human Resource Management). He is a graduate of the Australian Institute Company Directors (AICD) Diploma Course.

Chris Walton | Director

Chris has extensive experience in workforce development, industry strategy, governance and leadership and education and training.

He is CEO of the Union Innovation Hub and was CEO of Professionals Australia for 11 years. Prior to that, he worked at the Australian Council of Trades Unions (ACTU) for 14 years, including as ACTU Assistant Secretary from 2002–2008.

Chris has run the education arm of the ACTU and been a Director of Chifley Business School. He is currently a Director of The New Daily and Coassemble.

Chris holds a Bachelor of Commerce degree, a Graduate Diploma in Labour Law and is a Graduate Member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors (AICD).

Susan Wilson | Director 

Susan has experience in governance, management, strategy and innovation and economic systems development across the public and private sectors.

She is Managing Director of innovation governance and strategy consultancy Bounce Partners, and holds advisory and governance board roles in agriculture, food and beverage and entrepreneurship.

A former research scientist and specialist in manufacturing innovation, Susan has global senior management experience in the agrifood, medical, pharmaceutical and consumer technology sectors.

Her former board and committee roles include Innovation and Science Australia, National Computational Infrastructure and Deakin University. She is former CEO, Regional Development Australia Hunter and founding Principal Consultant for the Manufacturing Industry Innovation Precinct and Central Coast Medical Precinct Taskforce.

Susan holds a Bachelor of Science, Master of Business Administration and professional certifications in human-centred design. She is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors (AICD).

Anne Younger | Director | Member Governance and Nominations Committee

Anne is the General Manager, Education and Training with the Australian Industry Group (Ai Group) where she is responsible for policy development and major projects addressing education and training issues for member companies.

At Ai Group, Anne has previously worked as an economist, managed a national team of skills advisers assisting with workforce development in companies, and managed a national team of business advisers charged with helping small–medium enterprises (SMEs) to improve productivity.

Before joining Ai Group, Anne worked for over 25 years within TAFE institutes and government agencies in the VET sector across a range of management roles involving policy, planning, research and continuous improvement.

Anne holds a Bachelor of Economics and a Master of Education (Educational Leadership and Management). She is a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors (AICD).